Captain Beyond was a great rock band

Captain Beyond was a great rock band

Captain Beyond was an American/British rock band formed in Los Angeles, California in 1971.

The original line-up for Captain Beyond were singer Rod Evans (ex-Deep Purple), drummer Bobby Caldwell (ex-Johnny Winter), guitarist Larry “Rhino” Reinhardt (ex-Iron Butterfly), bassist Lee Dorman (ex-Iron Butterfly) and keyboardist Lewie Gold. Gold left due to personal reasons before the first album was recorded. The remaining line-up recorded the self-titled debut album, released in 1972.

Captain Beyond recorded three studio albums (Captain Beyond (1972), Sufficiently Breathless (1973) and Dawn Explosion (1977). In my oppinion is their first album (self titled) the best. It´s a very strong and well produced rock album.


Captain Beyond disbanded in 2003 when Larry “Rhino” Reinhardt developed cancer. Both Larry “Rhino” Reinhart (g), Lee Dorman (b) died in 2012.


Captain Beyond debut on Montreux festival (April 30, 1972)

Lineup: Rod Evans (voc), Larry “Rhino” Reinhart (g), Lee Dorman (b), Bobby Caldwell (dr)



1. Dancing Madly Backwards (on a sea of air)

2. Armworth

3. Myopic Void

4. Mesmerization Eclipse

5. Raging River of Fear

6. Thousand Days of Yesterdays (intro)

7. Frozen Over

8. Thousand Years of Yesterdays (Time Since Come and Gone)

9. ICan´t fell Nothin´Pt.1

10. As the Moon Speaks (to the waves of the Sea)

11. Astral Lady

12. As the Moon speaks (Return)

13. I Can´t Feel Nothin`,Pt.2



  1. After forty years I am re-listening to Captain Beyond. I enjoy them even more now than back in the day. The debut album remains a milestone in modern music.

Submit a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

I like this post

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.